Trump Signs Farm Bill, Reauthorizing NORA Till 2029

President Donald J. Trump on Dec. 20 signed into law a bill extending the National Oilheat Research Alliance (NORA) for ten years.

The Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, referred to as the Farm Bill, includes reauthorization of the NORA program through Feb. 6, 2029, the New England Fuel Institute noted in an email to members shortly after Trump signed the bill.

But the email went on to say, “Renewing NORA is a significant win, but other challenges and opportunities await. In 2019 and beyond, we are likely to face federal and state carbon taxes; regional natural gas expansion initiatives; efforts to convert homes to electric heat pumps; and a complete rewrite of federal biofuels policies. NEFI also continues to fight for much-needed regulatory relief to help hire and train qualified CDL drivers and keep them on the road.”

The Institute followed that observation with a request for support:

“Our engagement and success in these and other issues is made possible thanks to your business’ generous support for our advocacy fund. Dues alone are insufficient in meeting the costs of these efforts. If you have not yet contributed, there is still time and we welcome your support! Click here to donate on-line, download the contribution form, or view a current list of supporters. You may also reply to this email with a pledge amount and we will invoice you.”

NORA was first authorized by Congress in 2000 to provide funding that would allow the oil-heating industry to provide more efficient and more reliable heat and hot water to consumers. The latest reauthorization, once signed by the President, will re-activate the government sanctioned, mandatory “check-off” program under which $0.002 is collected at the wholesale level on every gallon of heating oil sold to fund NORA’s activities in consumer education, professional education, improving energy efficiency and safety, and research.

NEFI noted that lawmakers who championed the bill included senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Susan Collins (R-ME), Pat Leahy (D-VT), and Jack Reed (D-RI); and Reps. Peter Welch (D-VT), Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Jim McGovern (D-MA), and Paul Tonko (D-NY).


Posted on Friday, Dec. 21, 2018.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button